It’s MineCraft Monday!

While it is Monday, and I’m playing MineCraft, I hardly think that’s cause to institute a blog holiday. The fact of the matter is, there’s a new patch coming up, and it looks like it’s going to suck me in even worse than before. Which, all things considered, is quite bad. So, you might not hear from me for a while. Truth be told, you might not hear from me for a while because I’ll be in rural Florida, soaking up “rays,” and by “rays” I mean 90% humidity, triple-digit temperatures, with a side of hurricanes. C’est la vie.

So, back to MineCraft! New patch. It’s coming soon. If you play MC, this is very relevant and awesome, and if not… why the heck would you click on a blog with the word “MineCraft” in it? Maybe this is your first time hearing about it, and you’re asking yourself naively, “Should I buy this game?” Well, since you have obviously crawled out from underneath a rock, yes! The good news is, you’ll be spending most of your time under rocks anyway, so this will be a great fit for you.

As excited as I am about the new patch, there are a couple of other MineCraft related things that bear mentioning. First of all, I have begun work on my large project. I say “large,” but really it’s just a 64×64 square of dirt that I’ve leveled off and am setting up into four sectors, each with its own seasonal theme. Here’s a delightful picture of my work on “Winter.” I need more snow, it’s a little scarce ’round these parts, and white wool doesn’t seem to do the trick.

And it’s blank counterpart lies to the right.

Those octagonal thingies you see are going to be massive pillars and arches at some point. Just accumulating the raw resources to create them is a monumental task of its own. Whew. Who knew you could break a sweat playing video games (besides people who have CoD marathons)? Anyway, that’s what’s up on that project.

The other thing I discovered recently that’s worth mentioning is an intense survival mod for the game. Usually I’m not up for MC mods because they’re very PVP-geared, and I honestly have never liked PVP in pretty much any game I’ve played yet. But this one is called SkyBlock. Check out the video here:

You start out with nothing except for a small amount of dirt, a tree, a block of ice and a bucket of lava. Then, you attempt to create a workable empire by infinitely generating… wood, cobblestone (from the lava and ice), and slowly unlocking all the other things available in MineCraft, from food, to protection, to comfort. A large set of challenges awaits you, and they’re really tough to complete. You’re on an island. In the sky. With NOTHING. Completing anything except suicide is a thumbs-up in my book. The list of tasks one must complete is available here, as well as the download for the actual map. Enjoy!

 

Well, that’s all for “MineCraft Monday.” God, what a stupid name. Who comes up with this stuff?

 

~Another Gamer

About Isaac Smith

I write about music, technology, video games, and probably many other subjects that don't bear mentioning here. Either way, most of it's worth reading, and you may even enjoy yourself!

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love how in the first paragraph, all of my sentences start with completely useless phrases: “Well, all things considered,” “So,” “The fact of the matter is,” “Truth be told,” “An old Native American shaman said to me once”…

  2. If you’re interested in mods that aren’t PvP based, check out this: http://www.technicpack.net/

Leave a Reply

