Short Break.

Merry Christmas to all y’all in the blogosphere!

To be totally honest with you, the break I’m going to be taking in my blogging is only partially due to the looming holiday stuff. It’s been pretty disconcerting to write pretty extensive posts which I think are insightful and well thought out, only to have them not be read by anyone. I’d rather have thousands of people read them and receive vitriolic hate speech from every single one, because at that point I’d know at least I’d be having an effect. I don’t think that video games are that polarized at that point, unless I said something like “Women need to be more sexualized in games” or “GTA is not violent enough,” but it’d be a nice Christmas present to get my comment inbox blown up with rage.

Anyway.

Regardless, I write because I enjoy writing, not because I want anyone to read it. In the end, however, my publishing of my blog implies a hope that people will read, subscribe, and share with their friends who might enjoy it. Even the people closest to me won’t do such a thing, so it begs the question: why publish? And to that, I answer: “I guess I won’t for a bit.”

Don’t be disheartened, I’m not quitting. Besides, you’d have to read the blog to be disheartened by it. I’m just going to take some time off, rethink why it is my blog is unsuccessful after nearly two years, and come back with renewed vigor and fresh material (and a style to go with it).

Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year, folks.

~AG

About Isaac Smith

I write about music, technology, video games, and probably many other subjects that don't bear mentioning here. Either way, most of it's worth reading, and you may even enjoy yourself!

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m not going to oblige you and fill your comments boxes with “F YOU”, “THATS DUMB”, no matter how much you beg. But even though I’m only a recent follower of your blog, I hope that you will continue writing and posting!

    I’m relatively new to blogging but already I have found it provides useful experience for writing in my totally non-gaming related work. But besides that, a well written, funny or poignant bit of blogging has the ability to make someone’s day (or break it I guess).

  2. I think that you are insightful, humorous, and very intelligent. No matter how many people read this at the moment, I think that this will be important to your career someday.

    You inspire me and make me very proud.
    Your Dad

Leave a Reply

